Minor 'A' & 'B' Finals

Wednesday, 31 October 2018 at 5PM


Sunday next the 4th November is d day in the calendar of underage Hurling in Kilkenny. This is also the first time of the new age limit of 17 which added a certain mystique to proceedings.  


The first game on the card is the 1.15pm throw in of the Kilkenny Honda Centre Minor B Championship Final between 


Undoubtedly the highlight of the weekend will be the Kilkenny Honda Minor A Final between Dicksboro & Mooncoin. North v South. City v Country. All the ingredients one would want for the big showdown. 


Dicksboro run to the final was quiet an eventful one to put it mildly. They played St Martins in the quarter final in a really tight match, 1-12 to 1-10, which saw Padraig Moylan & Co come out on top where a save from Brian Minogue proved crucial whilst Mikey Clifford had the scoring touch up front. 


In the semi final they had the edge on St Lachtains from the get go, Daragh Maher & Cathal O'Leary couldn't get lose from the shackles of the Dicksboro defence with David Conway & Tom Carroll proving particularly effective. 


Mooncoin journey began with a South derby in the quarter final against Kilmacow. It saw the them make a terrific start getting an early lead which Kilmacow never really made in roads into  and they gained a good 1-18 to 1-9 victory. 


There was a huge crowd in Mullinavat for the semi final clash with James Stephens and it was an epic encounter to say the least with neither side giving an inch. 


Mooncoin raced into a 1-6 to 0-0 lead after 13 minutes play with Adam Croke, Killian Hogan and Sean O'Dwyer leading the village defence on a merry dance. 


The men in red and green were not to lie fuwn with Eoin Guilyfoyle almost single handily dragging them back into the game by half time. 


Try as they might James Stephens could not get any joy from a well marshalled Mooncoin defence lead ably by Cormac Kinsella. 


Sundays game is going to be a tight call. Mooncoin are very young but have progressed hugely in the last 12 months and have given the whole parish a huge lift 24hours after relegation  whilst Dicksboro are looking to complete the U-15 & Minor double something which is rarely achieved. 


This is going to be a game of fine margins and don't be surprised if we are back next week for the replay for the first draw in many moons.  


Dicksboro panel: 


Brian Manogue, Colm O'Grady, David Conway, Conor Egan, Tom Carroll, Padraic Moylan, Keith O'Connor, Aaron Murphy, Colm O'Hara, Cian Rowe, Cormac Kennedy, Liam Hennessy, Kevin Fitzpatrick, David Delahunty, Michael Clifford, Liam Moore, Luke Morrissey, Oisin Timmons, Eoin Dalton, David Walsh, Paddy O'Shea, Paddy Fitzgerald, Oisin Tynan.




Mooncoin panel Donnacha Hogan,Daniel Fewer Ward , Cormac Kinsella (captain), Pauric Delahunty, Ryan Carroll, Aidan Doyle, James Aylward, Killian Hogan, Daniel Cleary, Sean O Dwyer, James Delahunty, Oisin Henebery,Lee Treacy, Mairtìn Gannon, Adam Croke, Darragh Murphy, Jack Ryan, Arron O Neill, Jack Conway, Pauric Murphy, Sean Sutton, Michael Ryan. 






Roinn B


The Roinn B Championship saw 17 teams go to post and as usual there was the mix of surprises & high drama that had seen the highly talented Danesfort & Thomastown square up in the first game of the afternoon. 


In the first Danesfort had to get the better of Tullogher Rosbercon and it was a late flurry of goals that saw them get over the line 3-14 to 1-11. Next up we're Rower Inistioge and the men clad in Black & Amber simply had too much class for the Southerners whilst the semi final again saw Danesfort showcase their eye for goal getting five of the six goals in a 5-8 to 1-7 victory.  


In probably one of the underage games of the season Thomastown played out a thrilling draw with Galmoy/Windgap in the first round 4-11 to 3-14. The replay saw the 'Town win by 3-11 to 0-12. They outclassed Ballyhale Shamrocks in the quarter final whilst they managed to get the better of Piltown in the semi final 3-8 to 0-9. 


Both of these sides have an eye for goal so an entertaining final is expected to be in store for those who arrive early. 


Thomastown getting to the U-15 final might help them here but Danesfort are a physically strong side and that might get them over the line. 




Danesfort: Daragh Hackett, Aidan McGree, Stephen Doheny, Thomas Leahy, Dan Dowling, Oisin Drennan, Brian McDonald, Troy Walsh, Conor Whitty, Conor Farrell, John Canny, Eugene Sinnott, Alan McCann, Ciaran Mullen, Peter Donoghue, Jamie Phelan, Ian Wallace, Joe Cowhig, Adam Byrne, Evan McDonald, Cathal Norton, Cillian Norton & Padraig Bradley 




Diarmuid Galway, Conor Cody, Ben Tennyson, Fintan Brennan, Cian Moore, Eddie Donnelly, Jack Sheehan, Liam Treacy, Peter McDonald, Luke Connelan, Jack Cahill, Joe Connellan, Naoise Dempsey, Jack Holden, Cian McCormack, Luke Mcnena, Grey Hoban, Conor O'Neill, Gordon Whelan, Ryan Malone, Paddy Collins, Tony Collins, Peter Connellan, Zac Hammond 


Developed by
©2006—2019 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!