Bord na nÓg update - Week 9

Saturday, 18 May 2019 at 12PM

It was a big week in Football with two county finals down for decision so we’ll review the leagues in next weeks column. 


Roinn B Football Final

Erin’s Own 0-7 0-7 St Martins 


As always when these two clash it’s a tight tough affair and so it proved after 60 minutes of pulsating football neither side could be separated nor disappointed with the outcome. 

Erin’s Own largely dominated the first half of this Duggan Steel U-13 Roinn B County Final played before a large crowd in Jenkinstown. 

James Coogan got them off to a perfect start after 4 minutes with a fine long range effort. St Martins got their only point of the half through a Michael Ruane free. 

By the end of the first quarter the midfield dynamo Coogan had two more points on the board. 

Conor Buggy extended the lead to three before Coogan landed the last point of the half after latching onto a breaking ball following some fine work by Conor Brophy to have the men clad in blue & white ahead 0-5 to 0-1 at the short whistle. 

Michael Keane got ‘Martins off to a perfect start with a rocket of a shot that went over the bar. Coogan responded in kind to maintain the four point gap. 

Dean Herbert & Ruane landed points in quick succession before Aaron Coogan had it down to the minimum at the end of the third quarter.  

Conor Buggy briefly lifted the siege that was enveloping on the Erin’s Own goal. 

Matthew Bolger and Ruane combined for the latter to point. As the game ticked towards injury St Martins got they equalizer they richly deserved through Ruane. One anticipates an even bigger crowd at the replay considering the quality of fare on show. A special mention to both goalkeepers Luke Cahill & Sam Coogan who dealt well with the sunny conditions.  


Erin’s Own: Sam Coogan, Leo Downey, Bobby Brennan, Alec Kerr, Mark Kennedy, Jack Coogan (C), Jack Comerford, James Coogan, Conor Brophy, Cathal Dunny, James Comerford, Conor Buggy, Kevin Buggy, Conor O’Sullivan, Jamie Cahalan. 

St Martins: Luke Cahill, Jack Dooley, Ewan Buggy, Thomas Shore, Darragh Purcell, Matthew Bolger (C), Patrick Coughlan, Colin Hayes, Michael Ruane, Jake Dowling, Aaron Coogan, Aaron Farrell, Dean Herbert, Michael Keane, Jack Coogan

Subs: Adam Morrissey 



Roinn C Football Final 

St Patrick’s  5-6 to 2-4 James Stephens B



James Stephens B & St Patrick’s clashes in the Duggan Steel U-13 Roinn C Football Final played at well appointed Jenkinstown.

Conor Heffernan got the Village men off to a flying start after the wing forward pointed from a neat Allen Larkin pass. 

This seemed to wake up St Patrick’s who hit a flurry of scores over the next few phases of play with Marc Bergin (2), Charlie Culleton & Marc Doheny all pointing as the men in maroon launched wave after wave of attacks.  

James Stephens seemed to have stemmed the flow but were hit with a break away goal by Bergin which was soon followed by a point from Culleton as St Patrick’s were making full use of the elements to lead after 20 minutes 1-5 to 0-1. 

St Patrick’s were unlucky not to be further in front as they spurned a number of goal chances with Christian Connick finding Bergin in space and his pile driver was stopped by the on rushing village custodian Rory Glynn. 

From the resulting play they got a penalty which Tadgh Phelan saved down the other end and St Patrick’s worked it down to Culleton who duly dispatched the shot to the roof of the net to leave St Patrick’s 2-5 to 0-1 ahead at the break. 

Despite playing against the elements St Patrick’s got the perfect start to the second half with Andrew Lawless latching onto a rebound to send the green flag waving. Diarmuid Behan responded with two quick pointed frees. Conor Millea added to this with a long range point as the Larchfield outfit began to assert themselves. 

As the game opened up Harry Culleton grabbed a point for St Patrick’s. The games key moment which put the game out of the reach of James Stephens arrived in the 50th minute Marc Bergin’s speculative shot landed in the roof of the net. 

James Bergin who was a live wire when introduced converted a penalty before Andrew Brennan brought the village men back into contention with a goal of his own. 

In the dying embers of the game Oisin Troy added a goal for the winners. 


James Stephens B: Rory Glynn, James Kavanagh, Larry Phelan, James Kelly, Tuan Hyland, Theo Petrani, Greg Ruane, Conor Miller, Allen Larkin, Conor Heffernan, Diarmuid Behan, Liam Rea, Matthew Kiely, Harry Cody, Matthew Kavanagh. 

Subs: James Bergin, Andrew Brennan, Gavin Hennessy, Tommy O’Keeffe, Ruairi Walsh, Sean Rea, Bartosz Medjuc, Corey Dooley 

St Patrick’s: Tadgh Phelan, Kieran Bergin, Rory Farrell, Patrick Morrissey, Conor Rocliffe, Oisin Troy, Michael Glennon, Christopher Delaney, Marc Doheny, Harry Culleton, Christian Connick, Marc Hogan, Charlie Culleton, Marc Bergin, Andrew Lawless.

Subs: Cian Stapleton, Shay Smith, James Cash, Evan Coogan, Josh Dowling & Will Ryan 

Ref: Sean McMahon (Erin’s Own)


Developed by
©2006—2019 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!