Admin Login

Dicksboro win AIB Leinster Intermediate Club Hurling Championship

By Mary Morgan Mon 6th Dec

Dicksboro captured a second Leinster Intermediate title in five years by defeating Celbridge from Kildare in this Leinster final played in Nowlan Park on Sunday. Once again Dicksboro hit the goal trail as Paul O’Flynn hit a hat trick and Shane Maher registered the other two major scores for the ‘Boro. Celbridge had the better of the opening exchanges but once O’Flynn and Maher hit two quick goals in the 12th minute the game was going away from Celbridge and by half time the Kilkenny champions had a 3-4 to 0-7 lead. Celbridge hit only one point in the second half but had a number of wides in the third quarter which if scored might have brought them back into the game. However further points for Dicksboro in the third quarter from Martin Gaffney and captain Eddie O’Donoghue followed by two late goals from O’Flynn ensured an easy victory for the Kilkenny champions who travel to London in two weeks time to play Kilburn Gaels, who won their first ever London Senior Hurling championship this year.Dicksboro 5-9 Celbridge  0-8

Martin Skelly Vice Chairman of Leinster Council and Eddie Buckley Manager of A.I.B. Kilkenny present the Leinster Intermediate Trophy for 2010 to Dicksboro team captain Eddie O’Donoghue.

Team and Scorers:  S.Morrissey, D.Glynn, K.Cuddihy, P.Hogan, M.Fagan, D. Kenny, E. Malone, T.Mannning,O.Walsh 0-1, P.O’Flynn 3-1,M.Gaffney 0-2 ,S.Maher 2-0 (1-0, penalty), C.Starr, E.O’Donoghue 0-5 (0-2 frees 0-1 65′), A.Stapleton. Subs. J. Nolan for M.Gaffney, P. Henderson for T. Manning, D. Carroll for D. Glynn, Oisín Walsh for A. Stapleton, E. Guilfoyle for J. Nolan.

By Mary Morgan Mon 6th Dec

Related News

View All

Main Partners