Admin Login

Dicksboro win Under 14 “A” Hurling replay as football final is awaited

By Mary Morgan Sat 6th Oct

In a highly anticipated replay in the Duggan Steel u-14 Hurling County Final Dicksboro landed the spoils impressing by 2-12 to 0-10 to bring the coveted trophy back to Palmerstown.
All eyes now turn towards tomorrows u-14 Roinn B football final in Bennetsbridge between Lisdowney & Piltown at high noon.

This Roinn ‘A’ Under 14 County Final replay was played in splendid conditions in immaculately turned out Thomastown last Saturday in front of a large attendance.  Dicksboro were totally in charge in the first half, notching up 1-2 in the first four minutes which would have settled them down nicely.  O’Loughlins first score, a point, came from a long range free on the sixth minute and they were unable to add to this until the twenty seventh minute with another pointed free.  Dicksboro, meanwhile, were consistently adding to their good start with a further goal and five points before the interval.  HT Dicksboro 2-7 O’Loughlin Gaels 0-2.  O’Loughlins came out in the second half determined to make a game of it, driving low balls in to the ‘Boro square in the hope of scoring a goal.  The goal did not come, due to some sterling ‘Boro defending and brave goalkeeping.  O’Loughlins kept to their task and continued attacking and the ‘Boro were for a time on the back foot as the Gaels kept putting points on the board.  For this game to really spark into life, it needed an O’Loughlins goal but as this did not come, the ‘Boro were able to maintain their commanding position to finish deserving County Champions on a final scoreline of Dicksboro 2-12 O’Loughlin Gaels 0-10.

Dicksboro: Colin Dempsey, Eoghan Moylan, Cian Butler, David Ryan, Justin Cahill, Evan Carroll, Johnny Manogue, Chris Kavanagh, Liam Kennedy, Mark Nolan, Alan Corcoran, Joe Sheehan, Oisin Gough, Edward Moylan, Brian Cleere, Gavin Byrne, Sean Boyd, Jack Condren, Harry Duggan, Cillian Timmons, David Campion, Conor O’Mahony, Kieran Galvin, David Delahunty, Sean Foley, Stephen Cass, TJ Stynes, Liam Brennan Smyth, Liam Stynes, Jack Connolly, Gavin Walsh, James Griffin, Tadhg Butler, Charlie Buckley.

O’Loughlin Gaels: Ben Maher, Joseph Banville, Jay Leahy, Jordan Molloy, Peter Collins, Shane Mahony, Charlie Deegan, Tervine Wallace, Sean Bolger, Ronan Buckley, John Delaney, Robbie O’Driscoll, Owen McCormack, Adam Power, Owen Wall, Conor Heary, Kevin Murphy, Eoin Kelly, Eoin O’Shea, Ryan Poyntz, Padraig Nolan, Joe Murphy, Sean Kenny, Michael Butler, Adam Flynn, Adam Cummins, Shane O’Reilly, Luke Freyne, Stephen Scallan.

By Mary Morgan Sat 6th Oct

Related News

View All

Main Partners