Admin Login

Title Number 14 For Ballyhale Shamrocks

By Mary Morgan Sun 11th Nov

Ballyhale Shamrocks captured the St. Canice’s Credit Union Kilkenny senior hurling championship for the fourteenth time in Nowlan Park by defeating Dicksboro by 0-16 to 0-12. Ballyhale led by 0-9 to 0-7 at the interval after a first half in which the city team saved two Henry Shefflin pelalties. Shamrocks could not quite administer the killer blow missing a number of goal chances while the ‘Boro will rue three wides in succession at a crucial stage of the second half and an Eddie O’Donoghue shot which hit the upright. Nonetheless Ballyhale were the better team with all six forwards, a midfielder and a half back contributing to their total.

Scorers – Ballyhale: H. Shefflin 0-5 (5f), M. Aylward 0-3, E Reid, C. Fennelly 0-2 each, B. Aylward (f), J. Fitzpatrick, M. Fennelly, C. Walsh 0-1 each
 Dicksboro: M. Gaffney 0-8 (8f), Oisin Walsh, Ollie Walsh, E. O’Donoghue, P. O’Flynn 0-1 each.

Ballyhale – R. Reid; P. Shefflin, A. Cummins, A. Cuddihy; M. Dermody, J. Holden, R. Alyward; E. Walsh, M. Fennelly; J. Fitzpatrick, H. Shefflin, M. Aylward; C. Walsh, C. Fennelly, E. Reid. Subs: P. Reid for C.Walsh (46m), D. Hoyne for E. Reid (58m).

Dicksboro – A. Duggan; K. Cuddihy, D. Kenny, E. Malone; M. Fagan, D. Glynn, R. Fitzpatrick; C. Buckley, J. Fagan; M. Gaffney, Oisin Walsh, Ollie Walsh; K. Kenny, S. Maher, P. O’Flynn. Subs: E. O’Donoghue for K. Kenny (25m), C. Starr for J. Fagan (39m).

Referee : G. Quilty (Slieverue)

By Mary Morgan Sun 11th Nov

Related News

View All

Main Partners