Mullinavat stop Mooncoins 3 In a Row Attempt in Southern U21 Final

Sun 6th Jan Mary Morgan

Mullinavat stop Mooncoins 3 In a Row Attempt in Southern U21 Final

A very impressive Mullinavat team cruised to victory in the Southern U-21 ‘A’ final at Piltown on Sunday 6th January when they defeated Mooncoin 3-23 to 1-09. Mooncoin were hoping to win their 3rd Southern title in a row which would have been a wonderful achievement but they met a very strong physical team in Mullinavat who wanted to get their hands on that Southern cup also. The first half of this game produced some excellent hurling and but for the two goals by Mullinavat from Ian Duggan and Liam Fennelly there was little between the teams during the first thirty minutes with the half time score at 2-08 to -08. But once the second half turned the Vat men really started to hurl and opened up the Mooncoin defence.  Between the 31st and 39th minute Mullinavat added 7 points without reply, five of those from play. Mooncoin gave themselves a lifeline with a goal from Christy Walsh on the 40th minute but that was quickly nullified when Ian Duggan broke through for Mullinavats 3rd goal one minute later. From then on it was a master class in hurling from the Vat men all the way to the final whistle. Eight of the Mullinavat players got on the score sheet which indicates the strength in debt of the team. They now face Saint Lachtains Freshford in the County final. Most impressive for Mullinavat were Mark Mansfield, Liam Fennelly, John Walsh, Simon Aylward, Ger Malone, Pat Mulhearn and the impressive Ian Duggan. Best for Mooncoin were Ethan Ryan, Seamus Kearns, JP Purcell and Christy Walsh; Teams; Mullinavat James Culleton, Mikie Jones, Joe Fennelly (Captain), Darren Kenneally, Brian Phelan, Thomas Aylward, Simon Aylward, Paudie Gahan,  Robbie Malone, Mark Mansfield, Ian Duggan, John Walsh, Liam Fennelly, Pat Mulhearn, Ger Malone. Subs; Conor Duggan,Mossie Jones, Ciaran Boyle.; Mooncoin; Eoin Purcell, Niall Blanchfield, Niall Madden, Cormac O’ Shea, Ian Walsh, Shane Walsh, David Kearns, Ethain Ryan, Seamus Kearns (Captain), Eric Wall, Aidan Walsh, Padraig Walsh, JP Purcell, Christy Walsh, Cormac Fleming; Subs Niall O’Hanlon, Ciaran Dillon Dunphy, Jackie Ryan.  

Related News

View All

Main Partner

  • Tirlán