Admin Login

Kilkenny defeated by Wexford in Walsh Cup Semi-Final

By Mary Morgan Sun 3rd Feb

Kilkenny, fielding very much a Development Squad, eventually succumbed to the Wexford Senior Squad in the Walsh Cup Semi-Final at Blackwater on Sunday. Playing with the aid of a strong breeze in the first half the Kilkenny under 21’s were full value for their  0.7 to 0.4 lead after the first quarter with Rory Hickey, Mark Bergin and Ger Aylward all on the score-sheet.  The lead was extended to 5 points on the half hour the highlight being a delightful point from a side-line cut by Ger Aylward.  However, the physically  stronger Wexford side began to grow into the game and back to back points in the 31st and 32nd minutes reduced the lead to 3 points. Then a penalty on the stroke of half time by Gary Moore left the sides level and the advantage very much swinging in favour of the Wexford side.

Half Time: Wexford 1.7 Kilkenny 0.10

Rory Hickey opened the second half scoring with his 6th score and Kilkenny matched their more senior opponents up until the 14th minute when Padge Dunne pounced to score Wexford’s 2nd goal. Another point within seconds put 4 points between the sides and the Wexford side went on to dominate the final quarter. This was a brave effort by the young Kilkenny side who more than matched their opponents for much of this game. Wexford now go on to meet Dublin in the Final at a Wexford venue next weekend.

Final Score: Wexford 2.18 Kilkenny 0.16



Aaron Duggan(Dicksboro), Jason Corcoran(John Lockes), Padraig Keating(Erins Own), Padraig Walsh(Tullaroan), Joe Holden(Ballyhale), Luke Harney(Kilmacow), Brian Kennedy(St Lactains), Owen Mc Grath(John Lockes), Tom Breen(St Martins), Mark Bergin(O’Loughlin Gaels) 0-2, Rory Hickey(Lisdowney) – 0.11(10F), Mark Kelly(O’Loughlin Gaels), Matthew Ruth(James Stephens)0-1, Shane Maher(Dicksboro), Ger Aylward(Glenmore)-0.2. Subs: Ollie Walsh(Dicksboro) for Shane Maher, Conor Martin(Emeralds) for Joe Holden, Shane Donnelly(St Lactains) for Ger Alyward, Richie Reid(Ballyhale) for Owen Mc Grath,  Ger Teehan(Graigue Ballycallan) for Conor Martin, Martin Power(Piltown) Blood Sub for Richie Reid.


Niall Breen, Bobby Kenny, Andrew Shore, Eoin Moore, Richie Kehoe, Andrew Kenny, James Tonks, Lee Chin, Eoin Doyle, Harry Kehoe, Paul Morris, Gary Moore, P J Nolan, Michael O’Regan, Padge Doran. Subs: Mark Fanning, Eoin Quigley, David Redmond, Shaun Murphy, Garrett Sinnott, Tomas Waters, Stephen Murphy.

By Mary Morgan Sun 3rd Feb

Related News

View All

Main Partners