Admin Login

Annual Convention

By Mary Morgan Sun 17th Dec

The 2017 Convention opened with Secretary Jimmy Walsh providing a comprehensive report on this years GAA activities both on and off the field, Jimmy acknowledged in what was his final report as Secretary all those including fellow officers and his family who had worked with him in his time as Secretary.  

A detailed report from Treasurer Barry Hickey outlined the finances of the Board, all which point to a very healthy position, with a good surplus reported once again this year.   The note of caution as always is that this position must be maintained in the years ahead.

Outgoing Chairman Ned Quinn gave an extensive report to convention on the year and spoke passionately about his years as Chairman and his involvement with all aspects of the county board, again thanking all those he had worked with and he wished all the new officers well.   There was sustained applause and a standing ovation from all present to acknowledge the huge role Ned Quinn has played in the county.

The election of officers saw the following officers elected for the upcoming year:

Chairperson:                      Jimmy Walsh

Vice-Chairperson:               P J Kenny

Secretary:                         Conor Denieffe

Treasurer:                         Barry Hickey

Development Officer:         Seamus Reade

PRO:                                 Paul Fitzgerald

Coaching Officer:                Pat Tynan

Oifigeach Gaeilge:              Seán Breathnach

Central Council Rep:           Ned Quinn

Leinster Council Reps:   Willie Dempsey and Jim Fennelly

Delegates to Leinster Conv: Pat Henderson and Seamus Reade

Delegates to Congress:        Barry Hickey and Ned Quinn


The Draws for the 2018 League were also completed on the night:


Group A: Ballyhale Shamrocks, Erins Own, O’Loughlins Gaels, Danesfort, Bennettsbridge, Rower Inistioge

Group B: Dicksboro, James Stephens, St Patricks, Clara, Mullinavat, Carrickshock


Group A: Graigue Ballycallan, Glenmore, St Lachtain’s, Tullaroan, Tullogher Rosbercon, Thomastown

Group B: Mooncoin, St Martin’s, Lisdowney, Fenians, John Lockes, Young Irelands


Group A: Barrow Rangers, Conahy Shamrocks, Windgap, Emeralds, Piltown, Dunnamaggin

Group B: Cloneen, Graignamanagh, Galmoy, Slieverue, Blacks and Whites, Kilmacow


By Mary Morgan Sun 17th Dec

Related News

View All

Main Partners