Admin Login

Junior Finals

By Mary Morgan Thu 6th Sep

 Iverk Produce Junior C Hurling Championship Co Final:                 2-9-2018

                   Glenmore  2-16                      Galmoy 1-16

A strong second half saw Glenmore take the honours and gain promotion to Junior B for 2019 after this close Iverk Produce Junior C Championship County Final in Nowlan Park on Sunday. The Galmoy men had begun well and indeed lead  1-7 to 1-6 at half time, but when Glenmore took the lead, they showed an energy which ensured that they wouldn’t be overtaken.

Galmoy made a great start to the game with a Patrick Doyle goal in the 3rd minute when he one handed past Davy Aylward after a Phil Russell delivery dipped in to the square. Doyle  followed up with two excellent points from play and was doing well inside, before he was switched out to left half forward . James Cody, at centre forward, was impressing for Glenmore and struck an early brace in addition to one each from the speedy Robbie Fitzgerald and Dean Croke. Two Stephen Delaney points and a pair of Phil Russell frees put Galmoy ahead 1-6 to 0-4 after 15 minutes. Galmoy’s early form dipped and they went a further 17 minutes without a score.

In the 28th minute a Galmoy player overcarried the sliotar at midfield. From the resultant free by Darragh Hartley, which dropped in to the Galmoy square, Robbie Fitzgerald reacted quickest and flicked to the Galmoy net. James Cody followed immediately with a good point and a Paddy Murphy free added to the tally, while the only Galmoy score of the quarter, came from Phil Russell ,under pressure, to leave Galmoy with a slender half time lead 1-7 to 1-6. One could see what that goal had done for Glenmore, who had previously been second best, as the teams left the field.

The southerners were fired up after the interval and four points in succession from Paddy Murphy, three frees, saw them take the lead for the first time in the 35th minute,  1-10  to 1-8.

The all important score came in the 36th minute. Aided by the breeze, Glenmore goalkeeper Davy Aylward was getting huge distance in to his puckouts. One such restart, just hopped in front of the Galmoy goal, where Michael Phelan Jnr, displaying his years of experience, just doubled a ground shot to the Galmoy net, to leave his side 2-10 to 1-9 in front. That score was always between the sides for the remainder and try as they might, Galmoy could never close the gap.They did force two close in frees in the dying moments but the Glenmore defence held firm. Glenmore did most of the hurling from here on and as the Galmoy half back line were caught  out frequently, the men from the south made hay from the long ball .They had big performances in defence from Ben Maher and Steven Cody while Brian O Donoghue had a good second half. James Cody played out towards midfield for most of the game and the extra space saw him hit four good points. Colm Smith and Mick Murphy tried hard in the Galmoy defence. Up front Phil Russell, Patrick Doyle and Stephen Murphy did most. Stephen Delaney won some vital second half frees which were pointed by Phil Russell. Four pointed frees by Russell in the final quarter kept Galmoy in touch. But every time that Galmoy reduced the deficit, Glenmore were able to reply through Paddy Murphy, who opened up in the second half, and James Cody. Stephen Murphy finished with two good points for Galmoy but Glenmore held out for a three point win to take the Championship honours.Galmoy have the consolation of having won the League final four weeks ago.

Glenmore:Davy Aylward, Sean Phelan,Ben Maher, P J Roche , James Murphy(Capt.),Brian O Donoghue,Steven Cody, James Aylward(0-1)  Darragh Hartley(0-1),Tomás Dunne,James Cody(0-4),Dean Croke(0-1), Paddy Murphy(0-8,0-6frees),Michael Phelan Jnr(1-0), Robbie Fitzgerald(1-1).

Subs: Patrick Hennessy for Tomás Dunne 35 mins,Michael Phelan(Mullinahone) for Dean Croke 51 mins and Darren Aylward for Michael Phelan Jnr 48mins.

Galmoy:Eddie Kelly, Brian Doherty,Michael Brennan ,Mick Murphy, John Phelan ,Ryan Murphy(Joint Captain), Colm Smith ,Conor Grace(Joint Captain)(0-1), Stephen Maher, Brandan Phelan Paul Delaney, Stephen Delaney(0-2),Patrick Doyle(1-2),Stephen Murphy(0-3),Phil Russell(0-8,0-6 frees).

 Subs: James Dunne for Paul Delaney 31 mins ,Brendan Delaney for Brian Doherty 38 mins,Frank Phelan for John Phelan 49 mins.

Referee: Eamonn Larkin (James Stephens)





By Mary Morgan Thu 6th Sep

Related News

View All

Main Partners