Admin Login

Dunnamaggin claim the Bob Aylward Cup

By Mary Morgan Sun 21st Oct

Dunnamaggin claim the Bob Aylward Cup
Dunnamaggin claim the Bob Aylward Cup

Kilkenny junior final: Willie Phelan penalty goal shot Dunna’ to victory and back to inter gradeDUNNAMAGGIN 1-16, PILTOWN 2-8John Knox

John Knox

21 Oct 2018

  Dunnamaggin, who were relegated from the intermediate grade last season, made a swift return when they scored a strong win over Piltown in the Kilkenny junior hurling championship final in Nowlan Park today.

A 54th minute goal from a penalty by former Kilkenny player, Willie Phelan, signed and sealed the victory. Phelan crashed a powerful shot to the net after the impressive John Fitzpatrick had been fouled. 

Piltown pulled back a late goal form a penalty by Peter McCarthy, but the game was long gone and Dunnamaggin’s second junior title to go with the one won in 1994 was in the bag.

The winners opened backed by the strong wind blowing from the country end. They were slow to put their mark on the game, but when Thomas Maher, Darren and Adam Fitzpatraick put their fifth, sixth and seventh points together they began to look really strong (0-7 to 0-4).

They hit half-time leading by 0-11 to 1-5, Kevin Brophy having scored a great goal for Piltown a minute into lost time.

The good hurling winners, playing into the elements and all, extended their lead to 0-14 to 1-6 by the 39th minute. 

Piltown had the next point from free taker John Kenny, but they suffered a bit of a setback in the 46th minute when they had a penalty saved at the expense of a 65. This was converted by Kenny.

Dunnamaggin, with Phelan, Michael Cody, John Fitzpatrick and Ronan Coffey hurling really well maintained their grip on things, and when Phelan fired home the goal from the penalty the title was theirs.

Dunnamaggin, who fielded without the injured Noel Hickey, will now represent Kilkenny in the Leinster club championships. 

SCORERS: Dunnamaggin – Thomas Maher (0-6); Ronan Coffey (0-4); Willie Phelan (1-0); Darren Fitzpatarick, John Fitzpatrick (0-2 each); Michael Cody, Adam Fitzpatrick (0-1 each). Piltown – John Kenny (0-6); Peter McCarthy, Kevin Brophy (1-0 each); Cian Kinsella, Ronan Ryan (0-1 each). 


By Mary Morgan Sun 21st Oct

Related News

View All

Main Partners