Admin Login

Junior Board match reports

By Mary Morgan Sun 3rd Jan

Junior Board match reports
Junior Board match reports

Click below for a further match reports collated by Junior Board PRO Mary Morgan

J J Kavanagh & Sons Junior Hurling League Round 1: 29-8-2021

Piltown 0-25 Galmoy 0-15

A strong opening quarter laid the foundation for this Piltown win over Galmoy in John Locke Park Callan on Sunday last. The winners also finished very well with the introduction of fresh legs paying dividends in the final moments.

Piltown were first off the mark when Martin Power set up the in-form Billy O Callaghan for his first of three points. Galmoy Captain, Oisin Phelan immediately won a free which Billy Drennan converted. Kevin Brophy put Piltown back in front before, Drennan and Phelan combined for Phelan to add a Galmoy point from play .Piltown then enjoyed a profitable ten minutes during which they hit five unanswered points. Cian Kinsella finished off a long delivery from his goalkeeper James Norris, while Billy O Callaghan completed his hat trick as Ronan Ryan converted three frees. Galmoy midfielder Nigel Stanley suffered an injury early on which restricted his contribution for the remainder of this tie. In the 18th minute, Billy Drennan won a free which he converted to leave it, Piltown 0-8 Galmoy 0-3 at the first waterbreak. Ronan Ryan put over another free after this break before Galmoy pulled back a few impressive scores. Tom Corcoran pointed and then Brandan Phelan set up Oisín Phelan for another as Conor Grace also weighed in with a 24th minute minor.A poor clearance by a Galmoy defender gifted Kevin Brophy with his second score of the day.

With five minutes remaining in the half, Galmoy’s Conor Grace sent a good ball crossfield which Tom Phelan grabbed and set up Billy Drennan to reduce the gap to three points Piltown 0-10 Galmoy 0-7.Piltown wing back Robert Tobin then passed to the lively Aaron Kinsella to tag on another to which Billy Drennan replied from a placed ball. Galmoy then conceded two very careless frees in defence and with Ronan Ryan in unerring form all day, the lead was extended. Galmoy finished the half with a Kevin Duggan point following some good passes from Frank and Tom Phelan to leave Piltown ahead 0-13 to 0-9 at the half time break.

Piltown introduced Declan Duggan,who won a Tony Forristal medal in 2014, to their half forward line after the interval and he pointed immediately from the left wing. Kevin Duggan dispossessed Darragh Walsh and struck over an impressive point from the right hand sideline for the men in blue. Points from the respective freetakers, Ryan and Drennan, ensued with Oisín Phelan also splitting the posts for Galmoy. In the 37th minute Conor Grace struck a quick free to Billy Drennan and the deficit was again reduced to four points at the second waterbreak,0-17 to 0-13.Curiously, neither goalkeeper had to make a save all day.

Piltown had now introduced Aidan Walsh and Braedon Wheeler in addition to Declan Duggan to their forward division.This input of freshness proved a masterstroke as the southerners went on to score impressively over the course of the final quarter and ran out impressive winners.

Piltown:James Norris,Shane Walsh, Niall Kinsella, Darragh Walsh,Robert Tobin(0-1),Kevin Walsh(Capt.),Shane O Dwyer,Aaron Kinsella(0-2),Ian Long,John Kenny,Ronan Ryan(0-12 frees),Billy O Callaghan(0-3),Cian Kinsella(0-3),Kevin Brophy(0-2),Martin Power.

Subs:Declan Duggan(0-1) for John Kenny 31 mins,Braedon Wheeler for Kevin Brophy and Aidan Walsh(0-1)

Galmoy:Brian Kelly,Matt Delaney,Brendan Phelan,Colm Smith,Conor Grace(0-1),Ryan Murphy,Frank Phelan,Nigel Stanley,Oisín Phelan(Capt.)(0-3),Tom Phelan,Kevin Duggan(0-2),Tom Corcoran(0-1),Billy Drennan(0-8,0-5frees),Brandan Phelan,Sean Phelan.

Subs:Jack Delaney for Tom Corcoran and Mark Delaney for Tom Phelan.

Referee: Stephen Delaney(Graigue Ballycallan)

Windgap 0-21 Tullogher-Rosbercon 0-13

A dominant opening half laid the foundation for a comfortable win for Windgap in the first round of the Junior Hurling championship in sunny Ballyhale last Sunday afternoon. The winners showed an eagerness for battle in this period which was too much for the Tullogher men to handle and although they were largely the dominant side in the second period, wastefulness in shooting meant they were never able to get close enough to push for victory.

Windgap started the faster of the two teams and early scores from Emmet Landy (F) and James Power opened a two point gap before Cian O’Donoghue got Tullogher of the mark in the seventh minute. Windgap continued to take the game to their opponents and further scores from James Culleton and three from James Power pushed them 0-6 to 0-2 clear at the first water break. Tullogher did have chances but had five wides to Windgap’s one at this time and this trend continued to half time with Tullogher having ten wides to Windgap’s five at this time. Windgap continued to dominate in the second quarter and scores from Niall Walsh, Peter Hennessy, Pat Grace, Emmet Land and frees from James Power pushed them 0-13 to 0-6 clear – Tullogher’s scores coming from the lively Cian O’Donoghue (0-5, three from frees) with one from Richie Dollard. The second half saw Tullogher come much more into the game but they found scores hard to come by and indeed, the margin had stretched to 0-17 to 0-8 at the three quarter mark as scores from James Power and Emmet Landy kept Windgap in the ascendancy. Tullogher had chances of further scores in the closing quarter and did record fine scores from Pat Hartley, Conor Hennessy and Frank Murphy but the goal they needed would not arrive. Windgap will be pleased to get an opening win and particularly with a strong opening half while Tullogher will know that with greater accuracy in front of goal and with the return of key players such as Walter Walsh, they will still have a big say in this year’s championship.

Windgap: Sean Foley, David Doyle, Cian Ryan, Padraic Foley, Darragh O’Shea, William Phelan, Sean Purcell, Pat Grace (0-1), Sean Power, Niall Walsh (0-1), Emmet Landy (0-6, 0-1F), James Culleton (0-1), Peter Hennessy (0-1), James Power (0-11, 0-8 F), Michael Power. Subs: Blade O’Gorman, Adam O’Shea.

Tullogher: Eoin Ryan, John Hartley, Sean


By Mary Morgan Sun 3rd Jan

Related News

View All

Main Partners