Admin Login

Bord na nÓg – Week 10

By Mary Morgan Sat 28th Aug

Bord na nÓg – Week 10
Bord na nÓg – Week 10

Click below for a full report on Bord na nÓg activity by board PRO Pado Flynn for the last week.

Roinn A
James Stephens 1-7 0-3 Erins Own
James Stephens landed the Paddy Grace trophy with a fine display of fast first touch hurling but they were made earn their win by a hard working & well coached Erins Own. Zak Scanlon got a fine point after 20 seconds play with Sean Bergin finding him in space.
James Coogan responded with a point of his own after some good play by Conor Brophy. Sean Bergin fired over a point of his own before Jacob Breslin added one.
Breslin was proving to be a live wire on the edge of the square he duly giaked with a speculative shot. Bill McDermott added one himself but Erins own were not going to lie down and James Coogan scored a fine point from the resulting puck out to leave it 1-4 to 0-2.
Brophy fired over a free upon the resumption and the ‘Comer men were more than a tad unlucky not to have scored more in this period before Breslin added a point to his tally in the 15th minute. The Village men’s dander was up at this stage and they saw out proceedings with two James McDermot points, one from a free.
Erins Own can take great solace in their performance and look best to challenge James Stephens in the championship with the talents of the Buggy’s, Conor Brophy, Bobby Brennan & James Coogan making them a real handful in Roinn A.
This was a good win for James Stephens who didn’t seem to have a weakness on the field and will be hard stopped at the National playoff in Semple Stadium & start the U15 championship as huge favourites.
Erins Own: Conor O’Sullivan, Tristan Daly, Mark Kennedy, Jack Coogan, Robert Coogan, Bobby Brennan, Jack Comerford, Conor Brophy, James Comerford, Eamon Brady, Cian Rothwell, Cathal Dunny, Kevin Buggy, Jack Cooney, James Coogan Conor Buggy
James Stephens: Billy O’Sullivan, Tuan Hyland, Ruardhi Harrison, Conor Heffernan, Conor McEvoy, Noah Minogue, James Bergin, Sean Bergin, Ed Lahuff, Sean Deely, Ed McDermott, Bill McDermott, Zak Scanlon, Jacob Breslin & Daniel Ring.
Click here for pictures courtesy of Willie Dempsey
Roinn B
Graigue Ballycallan 2-7 0-4 Barrow Rangers
Don’t let the score line fool you this game was in the melting pot until well into the second half when a Tony Butler goal set the Kilmanagh men on their way victory and a complete shut down by the Graigue Ballycallan full back line on a previously dangerous Rangers forward unit led by Aidan Comerford proved to be key.
Pat Purcell got Barrow Rangers off to the perfect start when he landed a monster free from inside his own 65.
The response was swift with Ben McEvoy pointing after the 4th minute before the lightening quick Cormac Neary entered proceedings scoring a fine point after a searing run. The corner forward added a converted free soon after.  Robbie Tector set up Ben Young for a point soon after before Neary finished the scoring for the half with a fine pint from distance.
Rangers peppered the goal at the start of the half but Butler struck a real sucker punch soon after when he sent a rasper of a shot to the roof of the net.
The Paulstown outfit responded with a fine score by Niall Carpenter after a good save from Sean McGrath & Patrick Wade added a free soon after.
Wade & Eoghan Cahill swapped points before Cahill sent Ben Young through & he sent the green flag waving giving Seamus Brennan no chance.
Barrow Rangers fought to the bitter end but were unlucky to come up against such a well drilled Graigue Ballycallan in what was a very high standard Roinn B final.
Along with the already mentioned Comerford & Cormac Neary there was fine performances from Paidi Egan, Eoghan Cahill & Cillian Hoyne whilst best for the eventual losers were Pat Purcell, Patrick Wade & Niall Carpenter.
 Barrow Rangers: Seamus Brennan, Eoin Prendergast, Cian Scully, Eoin Delaney, Brian Mahon, Pat Purcell, Oran O’Keffee, Callum Hughes, Sean Hanlon, Eoin O’Neill, Patrick Wade, Michael Maher, Shane McDonald, Niall Carpenter, Pj Mc Hugh
Graigue Ballycallan: Sean McGrath, Oran Hoyne, Aidan Comerford (Captain) Robbie Lynch,  Shane Cody, Paidi Egan, Cillian Hoyne, Frank McCluskey, Michael Tynan, Robbie Tector, Eoghan Cahill, Tony Butler, Cormac Neary, Ben Young, Ben McEvoy
The division 3 Feile went the way of Emerlads with a fine display. The minor B league final was played Monday where Graigue Ballycallan had too much class for St Martins & cantered to an impressive eight point victory.
By Mary Morgan Sat 28th Aug

Related News

View All

Main Partners