Admin Login

Duggan Steel u13 Roinn B Football Final

By Eddie Doyle Tue 19th Apr

Duggan Steel u13 Roinn B Football Final
Duggan Steel u13 Roinn B Football Final

Piltown crowned Champions in epic final in Kilmacow



VENUE: Kilmacow

REF: Ray Byrne


Kilmacow 0:06 v 2:04 Piltown

The facilities were top class and conditions excellent as Kilmacow hosted Piltown in the Roinn B Final.

The opening few mins started with goal chances for both sides. Kilmacow wing forward Flinn Gillespie having his shot blocked down in front of goal while Piltown took full advantage of their opportunity, a shot from full forward Harry Farrell bringing out the best in Eoin Sutton in the Kilmacow goal when he saved from point blank range only for the clever Brodie Wheeler  to be on hand to finish the rebound to the back of the net.  Piltown were off to a flying start in the opening minutes to lead by a goal. Kilmacow immediately went up the other end of the pitch and had a great chance to level after some very good work by Flinn Gillespie and Liam Egan presented them with a goal chance going wide but ref Ray Byrne pulled back play for an earlier infringement and Flinn Gillespie pointed the free to open the score for the home side.

Both teams had settled now and started to play what was going to be a fantastic game of good quality football, the battle between Kilmacow centre back Rory Foot and his direct opponent Jack Farrell  was developing in to a highlight of the game.

Harry Farrell pointed for Piltown from a tight angle to stretch the lead only for Liam Egan to claw one back for the home side after a great sweeping move up the field and a clever kick pass from Flinn Gillespie to find Egan in Space. Piltown responed very  well  and began to win a few key positions around the pitch, Shane Downey was dominating at full back while Jack O Driscoll and Harry Farrell were doing well too.  Piltown were getting a few opportunities for long range points but they were dropping them short and proved very testing for Eoin Sutton in the Kilmacow goal but he was more than a match for them and dealt with them superbly. Piltown added two more points before half time, a point from corner forward Brodie Wheeler that will go down in folklore and a pointed free from midfielder Dylan Walsh to leave the score 0:02 v 1:03 in favour of Piltown.

The second half started well for Piltown with a goal from Daire O Brien when he pounced on the end of a long ball into the full forward line to finish to the back of the net. Kilmacow responded with a point from a free, Flinn Gillespie. This had long by now turned into a top class game full of all the skills of the game but it has to be said the exhibition of blocking by both sides was top class. Kilmacow got the next 2 points to bring the score to 0:05 v 2:03, a point from play by David Phelan and another pointed free from Flinn Gillespie. This was a battle now fit for any final and Kilmacow , even though they were trailing at this stage by 5, never looked a beaten team.  Up next was a massive phase in the final when Eoin Sutton in the Kilmacow goal not only pulled off one great save but immediately followed it up with a double save to keep his side in it and maybe start putting some doubt into the Piltown team. But that was not to be the case, Dylan Walsh pointed a ’45 for Piltown  that was answered by a free from Flinn Gillespie to make the score 0:06 v 2:04. The final few mins were frantic with Kilmacow trying to get ‘’that goal’’ that eluded them all game but Piltown stood tall and emerged as winners in what can only be described as a fantastic game of football


Kilmacow: Eoin Sutton, Sean McDonald, Danny O Brien Walsh, Tom Nolan, Patrick Quinlan, Rory Foot, Danny Murray, Joe Murphy, Jamie Cass, Liam Egan, David Phelan, Flinn Gillespie, Ben Carroll Synnott, Dean Hennessy, Denis O Hanlon, Ben Byrne, Sam Murphy, Michael Reddy.

Piltown: Ronan Knox, Brendan Twohig, Shane Downey, Ben Coffey, Jeffory O Shea, Jack O Driscoll, Tom Gahan, Dylan Walsh, Sean Driscoll, Daire O Brien, Jack Farrell, Eddie Aylward, William Walsh, Harry Farrell, Brodie Wheeler, Jack Meaney.



By Eddie Doyle Tue 19th Apr

Related News

View All

Main Partners