Admin Login

AIB Leinster Club Championships

By Mary Morgan Mon 14th Nov

St Patrick’s (Ballyragget) 2-18 Brosna Gaels (Offaly) 1-4

St Patrick’s (Ballyragget) continued their great unbeaten run with a comprehensive win over Offaly standard bearers Brosna Gaels in the semi final of the A.I.B Leinster junior hurling championship in a game played before fine crowd at Ballyragget on Sunday afternoon.

The Ballyragget pitch was in superb order despite the recent poor weather conditions and had recovered well from damage sustained during last week’s county football final.

From the early stages there was never any doubt about the result as the home side with Brian (Brooky) Phelan lording it around the middle of the park and wing forward Kevin Kelly unerring from frees and play the home side were quickly into their stride. By the half time break they had established a 0-13 to 0-2 lead and even at this stage the writing was on the wall for the Offaly standard bearers. It must be said however that St Patricks had the aid of a strong breeze in that first but somehow one felt that more than a breeze was needed if the Offaly men were to get back into the game and so it proved.

Three minutes into the new half Michael Brennan set up corner forward Conor Delaney for St Patricks first goal to put them fourteen points clear and well on their way to victory.Their second goal came in the 45th minute from full forward Bill Staunton This time Conor Delaney turned provider and Staunton made no mistake. That goal put St Patricks out of reach and even though substitute Glenn Hannigan had a consolation goal for the visitors in the 48th minute the Ballyragget men were now well on their way to a Leinster final clash against Ballyfin from Laois who beat Horsewood from Wexford in the other semi final. The final ten minutes was somewhat pedestrian as the St Patricks hit three points from frees two from Michael Brennan and one from Kevin Kelly against a fast tiring Brosna side that had a point from a Des Egan free. This was another fine overall performance from a side that seem to be improving with every game. However Ballyfin will pose a different challenge but whether they have the wherewithal to upset the Kilkenny champions remains to be seen.


St Patricks

Kevin Kelly 0-8 (7 frees) Bill Staunton 1-2 Conor Delaney 1-2 Michael Brennan 0-3 (2 frees) Joe Brennan 0-2 Brian (B) Phelan 0-1

Brosna Gaels

Glen Halligan 1-0 Fergal Daly 0-2 (1 free) Des Egan 0-1 Thomas Spain 0-1St Patricks

St Patricks

Michael Gannon, John Mooney, Geoff Morrissey, Stephen Staunton, James Gannon, Geoffrey Brennan, Stephen Roberts, Brian (Brooky) Phelan, Kevin Kelly, Jody Phelan, Seoirse Kenny, Michael Brennan, Conor Delaney, Bill Staunton, Joe Brennan.


Paddy Cahill, James Morrissey, Sean Mooney, Conor Foley, Alan Ruth.

Brosna Gaels

Conor Robbins, Jeffrey Cuskelly, Danny Kelliher,Trefor Phelan, Karl Daly, Chris M c Donald, Lee Colgan, Sean Hackett, Des Egan, Thomas Spain, Fergal Daly, Eamon M c Cabe, John Egan, Kevin Lynam, Alan Lynam. Subs Barry Buckley, Glen Halligan, Alec Mooney,

Referee – Patrick Murphy (Carlow)

By Mary Morgan Mon 14th Nov

Related News

View All

Main Partners