Admin Login

Leinster Schools ‘C’ Junior Hurling Final

By Mary Morgan Sat 25th May

Duiske College captured the Leinster title in Athy last wednesday, overcoming Dublin winners St. David’s CBS in a high scoring encounter. In a fast paced game, Duiske Colleges clinical finishing in front of goal proved to be the difference between both sides. St. David’s CBS started strongest and dominated the first five minutes,  but with shots coming off the crossbar and a number of close wides, the Dublin school were unable to show their dominance on the scoreboard.  Duiske College stormed into the game and two low balls into Ted Dunne resulted in two quick fire goals from the full forward. Both teams traded points until late in the half first year student Sean Hamilton won possession in the corner, beat his man and gave a great crossfield pass into the hands of Greg Hoban who buried to the net. This gave Duiske College a ten point lead of 3-5 to 0-4 at half time. After the break, the Dubliners came out fired up and started to eat into the lead with a goal and a series of points. Not to be outdone Kilkenny minor Pierce Blanchfield, showed his leadership abilities to win a number of puck outs and score some excellent long range points  from play, followed by two spectacular individual goals whereby he raced through the St David’s CBS defence before finishing to the net. The Artane school kept challenging and tried to engineer some goals of their own but struggled to find a way past full back Sean O’ Neill and goalkeeper Kian Murphy. Duiske found the net again from Ted Dunne and Greg Hoban and points from Jack Dunne, Sean Hamilton and Taighe O’ Brien put the seal on a comprehensive win in the end.

Duiske College: Kian Murphy, Colin Hamilton, Sean O’ Neill, Robbie Conran, Shane Cleary, Stephen Foley, Sam O’ Brien, Taighe O’ Brien (0-2), Pierce Blanchfield (2-10), Ryan Kielthy, Jack Dunne (0-2), Liam Cahill, Sean Hamilton (0-2), Ted Dunne (3-1), Greg Hoban (2-1)
Subs: Charlie Kielthy, Mike Hoban, Oisin Kelly, Francisco Martinez, Danny Kennedy, Eoghan Stafford, Aidan Ryan

Jim Whelan

By Mary Morgan Sat 25th May

Related News

View All

Main Partners