Admin Login

St Martins end 15 year wait for Minor title

By Mary Morgan Thu 30th Jan

St Martins end 15 year wait for Minor title

St Martins 4-9 1-6 Carrickshock

St Martins ended their long drought at Minor level since 2005 when winning the Kilkenny Citroen Centre Minor B Football Championship. Let one not be misguided by the full time score where a game Carrickshock outfit gave a good account of themselves in a full blooded contest that could have swung either way until the final quarter of the game.

Joe Reid got the men clad in red and green off to the perfect start with a fine goal burying the ball past the on-rushing Patrick Hickey. Carrickshock largely bossed the game for much of the first half with midfield dynamo’s Jack McGuirk & Oisin Doyle getting them into the game with a pair of fine points after some great play by the influential Oisin Carroll.

They soon hit the front in the when in the 8th minute Shane Fennelly sent the green flag waving after some sustained pressure on the Saint’s goal line. A Kyle Dineen point followed as they closed out the half well in control 1-3 to 1-0 clear but would rue some missed chances to further exert their dominance.

Martins finally got out of their half when Conor Dooley landed a fine point from his left peg. A goal from Reid put ‘Martins back ahead but Eoghan O’Neill had Shock level from the resulting kick out with a shot that split the posts. Thomas Lawlor fired over two quick fire frees before O’Neill responded with a point of his own. Cathal Keegan gave his side a huge lift when he sent the green flag waving after Carrickshock had bombarded Ross Dowling’s goal but O’Neill left the game in the melting pot at the break with a minor of his own as St Martins lead 3-3 to 1-6 at the break. The next score was going to be vital with captain Jack Farrell pointing in the 44th minute. Keegan’s goal in the 48th minute closed the game out as a contest.

Best for the winners were Tristan Roche, Josh Dempsey, Joe Reid, Tommy Lawlor and Cillian Bryan whilst for Carrickshock Oisin Carroll, Luke Hudson, Kyle Dineen & Eoghan O’Neill all had good games.  

Lawlor got the eventual winners off to the best start of the new half with two points – one after a marauding run from half back Cillian Bryan.  

St Martins: Ross Dowling, Ciaran Nolan, Matthew Shortall, Tadgh Gill, Bill Dowling, Shane Fahy, Cillian Bryan, Tristian Roache, Cathal Keegan, Russell Kealy, Thomas Lawler, Jack Farrell, Josh Dempsey, Joe Reid, Conor Dooley

Subs: Jamie Morrissey, Niall Shore, Conor Egan, Luke Burke, Oisin Kelly, Paddy Brennan

Carrickshock: Patrick Hickey, James O’Shea, Sean Moore, Stephen Neville, Padraig Lennon, Oisin Carroll , Luke Hudson, Jack McGuirk, Oisin Doyle, Shane Fennelly, Kyle Dineen, Edward Dwyer, Eoghan O’Neill, Tommy Doyle, Josh Dineen. Subs: Darragh Dwyer,

Joseph Aylward, Michael O’Shea.

Ref: John McCormack (James Stephens)

Also Piltown has a great win in Minor A Championship defeating Dicksboro in the final 

A very strong second half from Piltown was enough to win the Kilkenny Citreon Centre A Football County Final on Saturday afternoon in Palmerstown on a scoreline scoreline of 2-12 to 2-08.

This was a very even contast which was level on four occasions during the 60 minutes. Both sides showed great skills and point scoring ability was on show in a game played in a very sporting manner. Sean Maher and Aran Murphy kicked two first half goals and were unlucky not to have another two goals only for the post and some good goal keeping. Half Time Score 2-06 to 1-06 to the hosts.

The second half started with a fortunitous goal for the vistors who were able to see out the game after that. Final Score 2-08 to 2-12

By Mary Morgan Thu 30th Jan

Related News

View All

Main Partners