Admin Login

Dicksboro prove too strong for Galmoy/Windgap in the Permanent TSB U-19A Championship Quarterfinal

By John Power Fri 19th Nov

Dicksboro prove too strong for Galmoy/Windgap in the Permanent TSB U-19A Championship Quarterfinal
Dicksboro prove too strong for Galmoy/Windgap in the Permanent TSB U-19A Championship Quarterfinal

An abundance of classy players like Timmy Clifford, Liam Moore, Harry Shine and Niall Rowe made all the difference as Dicksboro eased home to a convincing win over Galmoy/Windgap in Galmoy on Saturday the 6th November last. The home side tried their best and had some hard working performances from Sean Purcell, Billy Drennan, Matt Delaney and Callum Lonergan, but at the end of the day, Dicksboro deserved their win.

The winners had a great start, when after just three minutes, James Carroll soloed in from the right hand side before striking past James Purcell to register the first goal of the game.  The home side responded with points from Jack Doyle and Billy Drennan, before Dicksboro struck again.  This time, James Carroll won a 20 metre free.  Harry Shine  appeared to be striking the ball over the bar, but his mishit shot fooled everyone and ended up in the Galmoy/Windgap net.  Three points in succession from Billy Drennan saw Dicksboro lead 2-4 to 0-6 at the first waterbreak.  The second quarter was evenly contested, but the concession of frees by the home side saw Harry Shine convert three scores from placed balls.  In the 25th minute David Sherman won a free on the GalmoyWindgap half back line.  Centre back Sean Purcell struck a long free which broke in behind the defence where Billy Drennan gathered and sent the sliotar to the corner of Brian Manogue’s net.  That score left just two points between the sides, Boro 2-5 to Galmoy/Windgap 1-6.

However, a super Dicksboro move, which involved five players down the field, ended with the speedy Aran Treacy Murphy setting up Eoin Dalton for a cracking goal on the stroke of half time, Dicksboro 3-7  Galmoy/Windgap 1-6.

Dicksboro added 1-3 in the third quarter while Galmoy/Windgap failed to register.  James Purcell was called upon in goal in the 32nd minute when he deflected an Aran Treacy Murphy shot over the bar.  The Boro introduced County minor Cillian Hackett in the 39th minute and his speed troubled the home defence.  Galmoy/Windgap moved Matt Delaney up field from his corner back slot with Sean Barron making the reverse journey.  Delaney went on to work really hard for the hosts.  Aran Treacy Murphy provided the final pass once again for a goal, this time it was Liam Moore who finished to the net to leave Dicksboro ahead 4-10 to 1-6 at the second waterbreak.  Galmoy/Windgap had a chance in the 44th minute when Billy Drennan stood over a 20 metre free.  Given the gap between the sides, he elected to shoot low and only a super save by Brian Manogue deprived his side of what would have been an all important score.

Dicksboro substitute Nick Doheny was on hand to bat home their fifth goal in the 54th minute.  Interestingly, their five goals came from five different players, always an impressive statistic.  Galmoy/Windgap never gave up however, and managed to conjure up one more big score before the end.  This time an effort for a point by Matt Delaney dropped short and Billy Drennan seized the opportunity to slam the sliotar to the Dicksboro net to restore some respectability to the scoreboard.  Dicksboro will go on to face Mooncoin in the semi final while Galmoy/Windgap will revert to the Shield competition where they will face O’Loughlin Gaels in St John’s Park on Saturday the 13th November in the semi final.

Dicksboro: Brian Manogue, Luca Loli, Niall Rowe, Stephen Darmody, Tom Carroll, Timmy Clifford, Rory O’Connor, Charlie Nolan, Colm O’Hara, James Carroll (1-0), Liam Moore (1-3), Eoin Dalton (1-0), Harry Shine (1-9), Aran Treacy Murphy (0-1), Sean Maher.

Subs: Nick Doheny (1-0) for Sean Maher 31 mins, Cillian Hackett for Eoin Dalton 39 mins

Galmoy/Windgap: James Purcell, Matt Delaney, Pauric Foley, James Darcy, David Sherman, Sean Purcell, Gearóid Phelan, Callum Lonergan, Adam O Shea, Eoin O’Brien, Billy Drennan (2-4), Sean Barron, Blade O’Gorman, Jack Doyle (0-2), Mark McCoy.

Subs: Billy Power for Eoin O’Brien 37 mins, Daniel Hanrahan for Blade O’Gorman 37 mins, Zak Kennedy for Adam O’Shea 55 mins, Killian Enright  for Mark McCoy 55 mins, Jack O Shea for James Darcy 56 mins

Referee :Sean McMahon (Erin’s Own)

By John Power Fri 19th Nov

Related News

View All

Main Partners