Admin Login

Dicksboro are the 2023 U21A County Champions

By John Power Thu 28th Dec

Dicksboro are the 2023 U21A County Champions
Dicksboro are the 2023 U21A County Champions

JJ Kavanagh & Sons Kilkenny County Under 21 Hurling Final 2023

Dicksboro 2-17; Thomastown 0-11.

This was the last big match of the year in Kilkenny, where the Dicksboro club capped a great week.

The previous Sunday, they became All Ireland Club Senior Camogie Champions for the first time.

Here, they went top of the Under 21 hurling Roll of Honour, with a record ninth county title at this grade.


Dicksboro clinched their ninth Under 21 A Hurling title with an impressive twelve-point victory over holders Thomastown in the 2023 Final, at Larchfield on Saturday, December 23rd, 2023.

With the pitch in excellent condition for the time of year, this game, played in 12 degrees centigrade temperature, and late winter sunshine, remained competitive until the final quarter, when the City side pulled clear of their Southern opponents.

Dicksboro, playing against the strong breeze, opened the scoring with a pointed free from Matthew Kelleher, this quickly replied to by Luke Connellan from distance.

The excellent James Carroll put ‘Boro back in front, before Zach Bay Hammond, operating in the half-back line for Thomastown, equalised.

The next four scores were all for ‘Boro, three from Kelleher (one from play) and a nice score from Kevin Moore (0-6 to 0-2).

Thomastown got to grips with the game in the second quarter, and reduced the deficit to a single point, with points from Connellan, Cian Farrell, and a fine individual score by Thomastown’s best forward on the day, Colm Treacy.

Kelleher (free) and Treacy exchanged scores before Boro got a vital goal in the 25th minute.

Despite brave Thomastown blocks, the ball broke to Matthews Kelleher, who goaled from close range. James Carroll added a further Boro point from midfield before the interval.

Half- time Dicksboro; 1-8; Thomastown 0-6.

Despite playing against the wind, Thomastown started the new half the better, with early points from Colm Treacy (a fine individual score) and Zach Bay Hammond (from 50 metres).

Both teams found it hard to score in the third quarter with several wides, although two fine points from Timmy Clifford, and a long-range strike for Timmy Clifford, left Boro six points clear, 1-11 to 0-8.

Thomastown captain Peter McDonald pointed a Thomastown long range free on 19 minutes, but from here to the finish, despite emptying their bench, the city side took over the game completely.

When Liam Moore raised a green flag in the 30th minute, it only confirmed what we already knew, Boro were on their way to the top of the Kilkenny Under 21 A hurling honours table.

Dicksboro fully deserved this victory, from a group of players who have recorded successes in Kilkenny “A” grade hurling since their under 14 days.

With players like Niall Rowe, Timmy Clifford, James Carroll, Matthew Kelleher and the Moore’s, surely a senior title is destined for Palmerstown in the not-too-distant future.

To their credit, Thomastown remained competitive all through, hung in as long as possible in this game, and now look forward to the upcoming All Ireland Intermediate hurling final, and a return to Kilkenny Senior hurling in 2024, where many of these lads will definitely feature.

(This was the last of the Junior Board finals in 2023, and we would like to thank all the venues who hosted our games in 2023. James Stephen’s did an excellent job hosting this particular game, as did referee Richie Dowling and his officials. Happy New Year to all clubs and best of luck for 2024).

Dicksboro team & scorers – 

Brian Minogue, Stephen Dermody, Niall Rowe, Johnny Keane, Tom Carroll, Padraic Moylan (captain, 0-1, free), Evan Murphy, James Carroll (0-3), Colm O’Hara, Timmy Clifford (0-3), Kevin Moore (0-1), Liam Moore (1-1), Sean Maher, Aran Treacy Murphy (0-1), Matthew Kelleher (1-5, 0-4 frees).

Subs – Brian Moore (0-1) for Sean Maher, Nick Doheny for Matthew Kelleher, Charlie Nolan for Kevin Moore, Sean Keenan for Evan Murphy, Cillian Hackett (0-1).

Thomastown team & scorers –

Luke McNena, Zach Bay Hammond (0-2), Cian Moore, Oisin O’Reilly, Podge Kirwan, Peter Connellan, Eanna O’Keeffe, Peter McDonald (0-3, frees), Alex Cass, Sean O’Keeffe, Luke Connellan (0-2), Naoise Dempsey, Colm Treacy (0-3), Conor Holden, Cian Farrell (0-1).

Subs – Paddy Collins for Sean O’Keeffe, Conor Monks for Conor Holden, Liam Treacy for Paddy Collins, Tyler Nolan for Colm Treacy.


By John Power Thu 28th Dec

Related News

View All

Main Partners